Self introduction

Dear Professor Blackstone

Greetings, my name is Ernest Choo. I am a year 1 student studying mechanical engineering in your class of critical thinking and communication.

I graduated from Republic Polytechnic with a Diploma in Outdoor and Adventure Learning in 2021, where I had to learn to use industry-specific equipment, such as assistive braking devices for climbing. This fascination with equipment and gadgets is present in my many hobbies, ranging from weekly lightsaber duels, to creating functional and cosmetic parts for an aquarium, with the common factor being my passion to tinker. Inspired by YouTube channels building absurd creations like “Hacksmith Industries” and “colinfurze”, I taught myself how to operate a 3d printer and create models for 3d printing during the COVID-19 pandemic Circuit Breaker event. Having been self-taught in 3d printing for about 4 years, I felt confident to take it further, and enrolled into mechanical engineering.

Coming from a polytechnic that requires daily PowerPoint presentations, and an industry where I would take on a facilitative or instructional role, I have developed my fluency in speech and also my confidence. Yet, this strength comes only when I am confident and comfortable in the spoken subject, or after I had time to prepare for the topic, as such my weakness shows during conversations and presentations, when the talking points would just be at the tip of my tongue.

In attending this class, I would want to further develop my ability to present myself on the fly. As mentioned before, my confidence comes only in comfortable settings or situations I have prepared for, so in taking this class I hope to be able to prepare for more situations, or be comfortable in more situations. Through your teaching, I would also hope to learn how to read the other person, being able to adapt my conversation to be more convincing towards the other person.

Yours Sincerely,

Ernest Choo

[updated 20 Sep 2023]

12 responses to “Self introduction”

  1. Lucas Avatar
    Lucas

    I like how you give examples such as your passion towards researching and learning more about things out of your curriculum which shows the initiative you have to find out more than what is required of you to. It is also impressive for you to be able to pick up 3D printing during the COVID 19 pandemic when everyone is stuck in the confined space of theirs and there is lesser opportunities to be able to do hands on with the 3D printer.

    Like

    1. Ernest Choo Avatar
      Ernest Choo

      thanks for the kind comments!

      Like

  2.  Avatar
    Anonymous

    a very descriptive and very well put background information. I found it very impressive that you were able to self-learn how to use a 3D-Printer during the pandemic (COVID-19). I like how you give examples and explain each example in your email. I realized that you didn’t include a weakness of communication that you have. overall, from reading your letter I can better understand you.

    Like

    1.  Avatar
      Anonymous

      Shakthi

      Like

  3. Shakthi Avatar
    Shakthi

    a very descriptive and very well put background information. I found it very impressive that you were able to self-learn how to use a 3D-Printer during the pandemic (COVID-19). I like how you give examples and explain each example in your email. I realized that you didn’t include a weakness of communication that you have. overall, from reading your letter I can better understand you.

    Like

    1. Ernest Choo Avatar
      Ernest Choo

      thanks for the feedback, I’ll improve on the weakness aspect

      Like

  4. Qayyum Avatar
    Qayyum

    Hi Ernest! Its awesome to see that you were studying Diploma in Outdoor and Adventure Learning previously and then currently you are perusing a degree in Mechanical Engineering! I liked how you explained your educational background and how your interest in Engineering sparked.
    -Qayyum

    Like

    1. Ernest Choo Avatar
      Ernest Choo

      thanks for the kind comments!

      Like

  5.  Avatar
    Anonymous

    Hi, I like the content and it is very descriptive. I also like that you have developed an interest in engineering from what you have studied in your poly. I hope that this lesson will help you to improve on your weakness.

    -Nicholas

    Like

    1. Ernest Choo Avatar
      Ernest Choo

      thanks for the kind comments and encouragement!

      Like

  6. Brad Blackstone Avatar
    Brad Blackstone

    Thank you, Ernest, for this very informative letter. I especially appreciate the sharing you’ve done in terms of describing your unique learning journey. What a great sets of experiences you’ve been able to curate for yourself! It’s impressive too that so much of it seems to be self-taught.

    We will cvertainly continue to address the areas that you mention in your goals, including reading nonverbals and speaking with persuasion.

    There are only a couple areas of this letter that seem to warrant review:

    1. the use of caps/puncutation
    — Greetings, my name is Ernest Choo, I am a Year 1 student studying Mechanical Engineering in your class of Critical Thinking and Communication.

    2. …enrolled into Mechanical Engineering.

    I look forward to working with you further this term.

    Best wishes,

    Brad

    Like

    1. Ernest Choo Avatar
      Ernest Choo

      Thanks for the kind comments, I’ll take your feedback and apply it to my next revision!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started